Work a little, Play a lot

Blogging….a new place for me to write my ramblings and in doing so will hopefully avoid embarrassing my grown children on Facebook.  

I’m not sure why, but my kids seemed a little annoyed when I would post pics, comments, and inspirational quotes on Facebook.

Okay, so I admit yes some days my postings were manic.  Perhaps 100 farmville shares, and inspirational/funny pics every 15 minutes were a bit much. 

But, hey I would rather see postings like those than the eternal complaining some facebookers post. Or those that share doom and gloom stories or photos of death and destruction. 

I go to Facebook and such online spaces to escape the ‘real’ world. So when I see constant morbid postings from someone, the unfriend button is close at hand.

If only we had a mute button in our ‘real’ world maybe I would be better at smiling and simply nodding when someone starts to complain and preach about some horrible news they heard about.

Does it really help to spread the news of doom and gloom?  Most likely not, especially to random people that cannot help or do anything to improve the morbid story being shared.

I say spread the good stuff, catch the good news and spread that around like I spread my fertilizer on my virtual Farm.  At the very least spreading good news rather than bad will maybe bring a smile to someone or make their day a little brighter.

My Farmville (FV) addiction was an excellent escape from reality, but sadly has been put on hold—well, when I say ‘hold’ I mean slowed down. My graduate classes have put the brakes on my farming. I’m sure my crops have withered and my chickens have flown their coop. 

When I do get the chance to play FV though I figured out you can limit who sees your Facebook posts, which I’m sure my non-farmville friends and kids are eternally thankful.

Thankfully, this Blog will provide me with new outlet to play—sharing the good stuff. Any excuse to put off research and writing a school paper is a good thing in my opinion. 

I don’t look at these virtual get-a-ways as procrastination, I consider this a way of gearing my inspiration/motivation up enough to tackle the stuff I ‘have’ to do….work a little, play a lot~~sounds good to me.

 Image

Leave a Reply

